Why I don’t believe in the importance and sanctity of marriage (and why my wife does)

ALaw
7 min readAug 10, 2016

While it might not be a popular opinion amongst married people especially, I don’t believe in the importance and sanctity of marriage. In fact, beyond being a largely administrative and social construct, I struggle to see the value of it beyond a formality of what a couple presumably already have before they decide to tie the knot. At face value, my opinions on marriage probably appear to present a dichotomy with my own relationship. But I can assure you they don’t. My marriage is just fine, contributed to by that very stance.

Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Despite my views on marriage, my wife thinks the opposite. Again, this difference of opinion has no adverse effect on our relationship whatsoever. The crux of what constitutes a balanced and healthy relationship is what we do agree on and the entity of marriage is very much secondary to that. Nonetheless, to give a balanced viewpoint, and in a first on iamalaw, this is a co-written article with my wife arguing why she believes in the importance and sanctity of marriage and why I beg to differ. And just like most things we disagree on, it’s appropriate that she has the last word.

Why I don’t believe in the importance and sanctity of marriage

What is marriage? It’s a representation of a union between two people to signify their…

--

--